Creating a Simple Report using PowerBI

Hi everyone, today we are going to create a simple report using Power BI and will discuss the features at each step as we go along. For demo purpose, let’s take some data of all the Football World Cups held until now.

You can actually get data directly from a webpage in Power BI, in my case I have chosen Wikipedia, the simpler and free source of information. Open Power BI and click Get Data, a screen with data source options will show up:

BI_1

Let’s put the URL of the webpage that we want to fetch the data from.

BI_2

Once you hit OK, it will load all the corresponding Tables that it found through the webpage. I will choose Results table that has the information about the Winners, Runner Ups etc. of each Football World Cup until now, after you check the Results table, it will show a preview of what data is available in it.

BI_3

As the data is not in our required form i.e. Columnar Form (recommended for Power BI), I will edit the data before loading it. After I click Edit button it will open up the Table and will provide many formatting/editing options that I can choose from.

BI_4

Here, I have truncated the Year column to show only the Year number, as well as added a new column i.e. Country, as I will use it afterwards in my report, once the changes done, my data will look something like below, I can Publish my Data set now to the Power BI app.

BI_5

So, after the formatting is complete and dataset is published to the Power BI app, let’s now play around with our data and create a simple report.

Let’s first use a map visualisation to show which nation/country has won how many Football World Cups to its name. In the example attached below you can see it shows me the WC counts i.e. 5 for Brazil.

BI_7

Let’s extend our report and add another visualisation, this time a Pie Chart. I am adding the Country column, Host column and Winners column and it will break up the chart for Winning Nations and the Country where they won it i.e. the Host.

BI_8

One more thing that is missing is the By Year information about the World Cups, so let’s add a Filter to our report, it can be added same as the previous two visualisations, just select Year for its value and it will work as a filter for our report, as shown below, when I select Year 2014, it automatically refreshes my other two visualisations and show appropriate results accordingly.

BI_9

That is just a basic introduction of creating a report on Power BI app, but this is not all, there is more to come on this topic, so stay tuned. Thank you.

One thought on “Creating a Simple Report using PowerBI

Leave a Reply

